about the triple crown horse race series

What to Know About the Triple Crown Horse Race Series

The Triple Crown is one of the world’s most prestigious horse racing events, consisting of three races – the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. This series is held annually in the United States, attracting thousands of spectators from around the globe. 

Each race has a unique history and tradition, making it a must-see event for racing enthusiasts and casual fans. The Triple Crown tests the finest three-year-old thoroughbreds’ speed, endurance, and skill. 

Whether you are a seasoned racing fan or just curious about this exciting sport, read on to discover everything you need to know about the Triple Crown horse race series.

History of the Triple Crown

The Triple Crown dates back to the late 19th century when a sports columnist named Charles Hatton used the term to describe the three major horse races in the United States: the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. 

The idea of a Triple Crown winner gained traction in the 1930s when Gallant Fox won all three races, inspiring other owners and trainers to aim for the elusive title. Only thirteen horses have won the Triple Crown, the most recent being Justify in 2018. 

Some of the most famous Triple Crown winners include Secretariat, who set speed records in all three races in 1973, and Seattle Slew, who went undefeated in his Triple Crown campaign in 1977.

The Triple Crown has also seen its fair share of upsets and surprises, with longshots such as Mine That Bird and Sir Barton pulling off unexpected victories. Additionally, the series has been impacted by world events, such as when the Belmont Stakes were canceled in 1911 and 1912 due to anti-gambling laws and when the Preakness was run at a different distance during World War II.

Despite the challenges and setbacks, the Triple Crown remains one of the most prestigious and exciting events in horse racing, drawing in millions of viewers and spectators every year.

The Three Races

The Triple Crown is made up of three separate races, each with its unique challenges and traditions:

• Kentucky Derby: Held on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky, the Kentucky Derby is known as “the most exciting two minutes in sports.” It covers a distance of 1 1/4 miles and is often described as a “jockey’s race,” as the field of 20 horses must navigate a crowded and fast-paced track.

• Preakness Stakes: Held two weeks after the Derby at Pimlico Race Course. It is known for its raucous infield party and the famous blanket of black-eyed Susan draped over the winning horse.

• Belmont Stakes: Held three weeks after the Preakness at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York, the Belmont Stakes is the longest and most grueling of the three races, covering a distance of 1 1/2 miles. It is often called the “Test of the Champion” and requires horses to demonstrate speed and endurance.

Winning all three races in a single season is a rare feat, and each race presents its challenges. For example, horses that excel in the Kentucky Derby may struggle with the longer distance of the Belmont Stakes, while horses that skip the Preakness to rest for the Belmont may face fresher competition.

Understanding the unique characteristics of each race is essential for handicappers, fans, and online horse betting enthusiasts.

Betting on the Triple Crown Races

The Triple Crown horse races are some of the most significant betting events in the world of sports, with millions of dollars wagered each year. There are many factors to consider when betting on horse races, including the horse’s past performances, jockey and trainer statistics, track conditions, and more. 

Some common tips for betting on the Triple Crown races include researching the horses and their connections, watching for trends and patterns in past races, and paying attention to any last-minute changes or updates.

As with any form of gambling, there are risks and rewards to betting on the Triple Crown races. While some people have won big payouts by betting on longshot horses or hitting the exacta or trifecta, others have lost money by making poor or impulsive bets. It’s essential only to bet what you can afford to lose and always to gamble responsibly.


The Triple Crown horse race series is a historical event that captures the attention of horse racing fans. With three challenging and unique races, the Triple Crown presents a difficult feat for horses and jockeys. The rarity of Triple Crown winners adds to the excitement and prestige of the series.

It’s a true highlight of the horse racing calendar and should be celebrated and enjoyed. We hope this guide has given you a better understanding of what to expect from this exciting series and inspired you to tune in for the next Triple Crown season.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Posts