Welcome to Free Word. Interested in exploring the political and cultural power of words? Join us at an upcoming event or read about the themes we explore.

2018 PEN Ackerley Prize

Past Event

Come and hear this year’s shortlisted authors, read from and discuss their work with chair of judges Peter Parker, before the winner of the 2018 prize is announced.

Come and hear shortlisted authors Maggie O’FarrellVictoria Whitworth and Richard Beard read from and discuss their work with chair of judges  Peter Parker, before the winner of the 2018 prize is announced.

The PEN Ackerley Prize is awarded to a literary autobiography of excellence, written by a British author and published during the preceding year. It is the only UK prize dedicated solely to memoir.. Previous winners include Amy Liptrot, Alice Jolly, Henry Marsh, Sonali Deraniyagala, Richard Holloway, Alan Bennett, Blake Morrison, Lorna Sage and Michael Frayn.

Ticket price includes a glass of wine following the event.

PEN Members are eligible for a discount on tickets for this event. If you would like to know more, please email hannah@englishpen.org

Joe Randolph Ackerley (1896-1967) was an author and long-time literary editor of The Listener magazine. The J. R. Ackerley prize was endowed by his sister Nancy in his memory


Peter Parker is the author of Housman Country, The Last Veteran, The Old Lie: The Great War and the Public-School Ethos, and biographies of J. R. Ackerley and Christopher Isherwood. He is an advisory editor of The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, and has written about books, painting, architecture and gardening for a wide variety of newspapers and magazines.

You may also like

Donate today to become a supporter of Free Word.